Agent: Jose will stay at Chelsea for at least ten years

According to Jorge Mendes, Jose Mourinho will remain in charge of Chelsea for at least 10 years as he looks to become the new Sir Alex Ferguson.

The Portuguese coach first arrived at Stamford Bridge in the summer of 2004, and went on to win two Premier League titles, an FA Cup and two League Cups during his three year spell in the capital. He then went on to enjoy more success in Italy with Internazionale – during which time he won the UEFA Champions League – and in Spain where he won La Liga with Real Madrid.

He then made an emotional return to Chelsea ahead of last season, and vowed that he was back to stay. Although he couldn’t add to the Blues honours list upon his comeback, the team are well placed this term as they top the Premier League table by five points, are into the last 16 of the Champions League, and face Tottenham Hotspur in the League Cup final next month.

But Mourinho is currently in the midst of a feud with the British media, who he feels has an agenda against his team. This has led to suggestions that perhaps he could renege on his vow to remain in London and look elsewhere at the end of the season. However, his agent has dismissed such talk, and insists the 52-year-old is destined to become the Sir Alex Ferguson of Stamford Bridge.

“It’s completely impossible to find someone like Sir Alex Ferguson because he’s a god, he’s a genius and to find a genius is very difficult,” he told the BBC’s Dan Roan. “You have one in England – Jose Mourinho. Jose will stay for sure. He will be the Sir Alex Ferguson of Chelsea Football Club. He loves the supporters, he loves the city and I think he will stay there for more than 10 years.”

During his sensational 27-year reign at Manchester United, Ferguson became the most successful manager in British football history. He won a total of 13 Premier League titles, the last of which came in 2013, as well as five FA Cups and four League Cups. And the Scot had success in Europe, winning two Champions League honours and the 1991 European Cup-Winners Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *