Record breaking Rooney voted England’s finest again

Wayne Rooney has been named England Player of the Year for the second year running, whilst Jack Butland has been voted its Under-21 equivalent.

Rooney has struggled for form in the Manchester United shirt this season, but he scored five times in eight international appearances to overtake Sir Bobby Charlton’s long-standing record as the country’s all-time top goalscorer with 50 goals. The 30-year-old also captained Roy Hodgson’s side as they qualified for this summer’s Euro 2016 in some style with a 100 percent record.

The former Everton forward received 37 percent of the votes from the England Supporters Club, to take the award for the second successive year. This is the fourth time Rooney has claimed the honour since its inception, with the other winners being Steven Gerrard and Frank Lampard with two each, and David Beckham, Ashley Cole, Owen Hargreaves and Scott Parker with one each.

Butland, meanwhile, received 54 percent of the votes in the Under-21 category. The Stoke City goalkeeper captained the side in the European Championships in the Czech Republic last June, and now has three senior caps to his name as he looks to compete with Joe Hart for the number one jersey. Previous winners of the award are Jordan Henderson and Saido Berahino.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *